Showing posts with label san francisco marathon. Show all posts
Showing posts with label san francisco marathon. Show all posts

Friday, June 21, 2013

Fun Photo Friday - kid stuff, #SFM2013 stuff, random stuff

1. I've been attending "graduations" for the last two days. Apparently it's a Thing to celebrate graduating Kindergarten, 6th grade (elementary school), and 8th grade now? That's new to me.

Kindergarten...
I know. Can you handle the cuteness?

2. And 6th grade....


3. #1 spent the day at Knott's Berry Farm with her friends (it was a school trip, I'm not just randomly cool enough to send her to a park on a school day).

Unfortunately, no pictures of her. But here's a giraffe selfie.

4. While I was playing in San Francisco last weekend, The H hung up my new Allied Medal Hanger, and reorganized them!

 photo null_zps03cd2315.jpg

 photo null_zps0d9fe522.jpg

He's great. I guess I need to register for some marathons to fill up that hanger....

My next hanger purchase, I believe, will be one of Allied's new Magical Design hangers.... maybe... this one?


Magic, it's true.

5. This kid sure has the pinchablest cheeks ever.
 photo null_zps8b80867c.jpg

Brooke is the cutest. A bunch of local friends/bloggers had dinner a few days ago at a local mall.

Pam, Janae, Kristina the non-blogger, me, Skinny Runner, Faster Bunny, Striding Mom
6. While in San Francisco for 36 very short hours (womp), I spent a couple hours working the tech center at the expo....
 photo null_zpsa62eb2e1.jpg

And watching all the runners leave their mark on the SFM #SF4BOSTON banner.
 photo null_zps302edd29.jpg

The expo this year felt MUCH better than last year - more space for everyone and the vendors.
 photo null_zps52610800.jpg
I spy BicBands!
7. At the expo, I finally got to meet some of the other Ambassadors, and attend the SFM tweet up.
Ambassador Meg, me, my favorite/weekend host Renee, and Ambassador Courtney
 The Uniform of Awesome... 
Court, me, Alisyn, Meg, Elise
So much sparkle!

8. One of the best things about running the first half, is I got to finish the race early in the morning, pick up my delicious finish line goodies....
 photo null_zpsf138b577.jpg

...and hop on the transport buses down to the finish area to watch the marathon and second half finishers coming in. I love spectating - racing PLUS spectating in the same race?? Fantastic.

I was able to see my friend Sandy from BicBands finishing her first full marathon strong...
 photo null_zps812748be.jpg

I also got to see a few other SFM Ambassador's finishing - check out their recaps...
Paulette PR'ed in the 2nd half
Alisyn helped pace Paulette to that awesome PR
Meg finished crazy fast in the hilly 1st half
Average A tried to be stealthy about running fast, but she destroyed the marathon
Chris nailed an insane PR in the full
Janey ran the full
and Krissy LOVED her first SFM experience



Tuesday, June 18, 2013

San Francisco Marathon First Half - Race Recap

Last year, I fell in love with the San Francisco Marathon. It was my redemption race - my second marathon after a freaking awful debut in Seattle

I knew, immediately, that I wanted to run this race again. I was excited to be selected as an SFM Ambassador a few months later, but honestly, I would have run even without the ambassadorship. 

There are some races that are just GOOD. You can tell they're put on FOR a runner, with a runner in mind. The course is well thought out, the details are nailed. SFM is one of those races.

The San Francisco Marathon is historically held in mid/late July. It was moved this year to accommodate America's Cup; next year, it is back on schedule for July 24th, and early registration is now open (link HERE).

The event offers several different races - the full marathon, first half, second half, and a 5k, plus a kids race as well. 

And the challenges - I cannot pass up a challenge, which is how I ended up running the first half this year. The Half it All Challenge (for runners completing the 1st half and the 2nd half in consecutive years), the 52 Club (runners who have completed the 1st half, followed by the 2nd half, followed by the full in consecutive years), and the LA/SF Challenge (runners who have completed the LA Marathon plus SFM, in any order, in consecutive years). 

*****************************************************************************
I talked last week about how I didn't really have a goal for this race. I was not feeling very confident in my endurance. I know the speed is gone for now, since I'm barely running, and most certainly not doing speed work. 

I was hoping to drag myself in under 2:30, and actually planned on carrying a camera and taking as many pictures as I felt like taking (spoiler, I crushed both goals).

As an ambassador, I was incredibly lucky to have access to the VIP area in Perry's on Embarcadero, just steps from the start line. Starting in wave 5 at 6:02, I got to Perry's around 5:15, and was able to have some breakfast, some coffee, and hang out in the warmth until my start time. 

Around 5:45, I headed out to drop my bag (bag check is SUPER easy and well organized - every truck was labeled clearly, and after the race, I literally just showed the volunteer my bib, and they handed over my bag within 2 seconds. Everything was put away neatly), and made my way to the back of corral 5. 


We started right on time, and unlike last year, it was SUNNY. It was still cool, but the not a cloud over the Embarcadero. It was really, really lovely.

I would argue that the first half is the tougher half, elevation-wise...
I would also argue that it's more scenic. Don't worry, I have plenty of pictures to back up my claim.

Ummmm. the pictures. 










Like I said, things went pretty well for me. I wore my iPod, but never turned it on. I wore my Garmin, but never paid attention to the pace. I just... ran. And looked around. And snapped pictures.
That was, in fact, exactly my thought at that moment.

Some things crossed my mind, like I noticed my quads were achy. I noticed my ankle didn't hurt. But afterwards, I couldn't really remember thinking about anything. 

I spent about a mile being really confused about how much farther I had, because I can't do math while I'm running (that's a lie, I just can't do the math ever). For awhile, I calculated that I'd probably be coming in around 2:40-2:45. Eventually, my math caught up to me, and I realized I had 2:30 within reach. Easily. 

I ran comfortably, and easy, and... man. It was just NICE. I walked plenty of the uphills, like I normally do because I'm the laziest and don't train, but otherwise? I felt.... good. 

I remembered from last year that I felt the aid stations were too far apart sometimes, so I carried my handheld, and it worked perfectly. The aid stations were never crowded, I just like more hydration. 

Tangents aren't really my thing, I guess, because I ended up running 13.25, in 2:27:45.

The really interesting thing about this (to me, I really know it's not that fascinating) is this:

Well. That's some pretty consistent pacing. 

Especially for someone who claims to be really terrible when the course is running uphill.

Compared to last years instant crash and burn....


Last year, the first half felt HARD for me. I was legit considering quitting at the half. This year, I finished the first half 8 minutes faster, and it felt EASY.

Interesting. And, not bad, me.

************************************************************************

I don't think I can say enough how much I love this race. It's beautiful. It's so well managed. Every single volunteer I encountered was friendly, helpful, and FUN. I think that's really what I like - everyone there seems to really be having fun. 

Can't wait for next year. Anyone in for the second half? It's downhill.....

I'll recap the rest of the SFM trip separately later this week. 

Closing: You should run this race. Really.

Monday, June 17, 2013

San Francisco, I love you.

And your coffee.
 photo null_zps89b7ccdb.jpg

And your pretty buildings.
 photo null_zpsf78a2b00.jpg

And all your pretty bridges.
 photo null_zps80cc9e5c.jpg

 photo null_zpsaa843805.jpg

And the best race course ever.
 photo DSC00634_zps759ee670.jpg

I had a GREAT time in SF. Marathon weekend there is just magical. So many runners, so many friends, a really WELL run race... it's just great. It was a bright, sunny, beautiful morning. Perfect. Just... perfect.

The race was interesting for me - I haven't run a half (besides Disney races) in over a year. I haven't run a race without Becka in, like... Gosh. A year. I was unsure of my fitness level. I pretty much went in with very little expectations regarding my performance, and was pleasantly surprised. Recap to come!
Brace yourselves now, because I took over 100 pictures on the course....

************************************************************************

Plan for the week.... maybe.

Last week I was very lazy! Actually, I feel like I was very busy in the evenings last week, and I'm not sure why? I can't remember anything specifically that would make me feel that way. Weird.
Monday: Nothing
Tuesday: Yoga sculpt, tank top arms, core (40 minutes)
Wednesday: 3 miles easy
Thursday: Nothing
Friday: More Nothing
Saturday: Travel, worked the expo for a few hours, and walking SF surely counts, right?
Sunday: 13.25 miles (I am terrible at tangents)

I am an expert at the taper?

This week:
Monday: Easy walk/jog to shake out some achy quads.
Tuesday: Cross training
Wednesday: 3-4 miles easy
Thursday: Cross training
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Trail run with The H!
Sunday: Unsure. Rest? Easy run? Eh.

Now comes the time in my "training" where I have nothing really coming up.

The next race I'm registered for is July 11, race #2 in the Renegade Summer Trail Run series. It's a 5 mile trail run, and I'm not exactly racing it.

After that is Race #3 in the series on August 1st, and then nothing until Dumbo Challenge Aug 31/Sept 1.

And possibly some fall plans that I'm not quite ready to pin down/talk about out loud.

There may be some trails in my future. We'll see.

Monday, June 10, 2013

SFM "Training" Recap - PFTW

Coming out of Eugene, I had 5 weeks until SFM (First Half). I initially planned to take a full week off, then run low mileage, rebuilding a bit of a base (that I let lapse during Eugene training - it really takes a special amount of DUMB to let your base slip during marathon training).

Because I am dumb and lazy (and, actually legit unwell for a week), this is what happened:
 
What I was actually SUPPOSED to do, were weeks averaging 20-25 miles.
 
I didn't do that.
 
My longest run since Eugene has been 8 miles - I did 8 hilly trail miles about 3 weeks ago, and 8 miles yesterday. I didn't die, and I didn't feel like I couldn't go on, so I will probably not die during SFM (1H). It will likely be slow, and that's okay - the first half is beautiful, so I plan on carrying a real camera, and enjoying it.
 
 
 
Vague-goal: Take pictures, enjoy the scenery, and maaaaybe 2:30ish?
 
**********************************************************************
Last week....
 
I did some stuff, that wasn't running!
Monday: 20 minutes Yoga Sculpt from YogaDownload - this is a flow series with weights incorporated. It was HARD for me, because I have the weakest arms EVER. Followed by 10 minute tank top arms that Kim reccommended. Who knew arm circles would be the end of me.
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Repeat of Monday - yoga was slightly easier, probably because I knew what to expect. Arms were still so hard.
Thursday: I RAN OUTSIDE, IN THE MORNING. 4 miles progression (10:40, 10:40, 10:16, 9:35 - I did not realize I was still capable of a solid sub-10 for any amount of time. Who knew?). After work cross training - the 10 minute tank top arms, followed by 10 minute core, and 10 minute butt and thigh. Apparently, the ony thing weaker than my arms, is my core.
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Does tandem biking with 4 other people count? If it's really hilly, does that count more?
Sunday: 8 miles - 4 easy with (ex-neighbor) Will, 4 miles at "goal" pace. Felt not bad!
 
 
This week....
Monday: Cross training (probably repeat last week's yoga/arms), plus that terrible 10 minute core
Tuesday: 3-4 miles easy, with strides?
Wednesday: Repeat cross training
Thursday: 3-4 easy in the am, Cross Country meeting for #1's high school team!!!
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Travel to San Francisco!!, do some expo working, meetup, Ferry Building for coffee
Sunday: 13.1 of the most scenic miles ever.
 
 
If you'll also be in San Francisco this weekend (LUCKY YOU!), come see me in the Tech Center from 9-11 Saturday, and at the SFM Meet-Up/Tweet Up at noon! Details here: SF Marathon Meet-Up/Tweet Up.

Monday, May 6, 2013

So... That's over. What's coming up?

First thing on my schedule, is Gabby's port removal. FINALLY. Her surgery went fine, and she's still knocked out in recovery right now. I hope she's prepared for some boredom, because no school for the week, and no activity AT ALL for 2 weeks. Zoinks.

Oh well. LATER, Port.

Switching gears... I took all of last week off as a recovery week. It was kind of nice. The most I did was some stretching and foam rolling, and I'm feeling pretty good - as in, the IT band/quad are quiet.

I dropped down to the 5k at PCRF yesterday (I'll recap that separately), and had a TON of fun. I went out without my garmin, just intending to run on feel, and... luckily, I felt pretty great. I had one tiny twinge running up a hill, but I walked for a few seconds and then it was fine. I'm super excited that there happened to be a photographer RIGHT THERE to capture that, too. Awesome timing.

I ended up coming in faster than I thought I would, which was kind of nice. Certainly wasn't FAST, but it was better than I anticipated for an easy effort.

I'll get back to running this week, I think, but everything at easy pace. I am not really interested in aggrivating the right leg, so I'll see how it goes, and maybe add in some hills/intervals something interesting next week.

So, what's next?

Corona del Mar Scenic 5k, the land of the creme brulee, is June 1st. I PR'ed there last year, and that was fun, but I think this year, I'm just going to go in for a speedy tempo run, and try to kill the hills. I'm certainly not in shape to PR a 5k (ouch), and I don't anticipate being ready in 4 weeks, either.

Speaking of hills.... after CDM5k, I have San Francisco Marathon!!! I'm running the first half this year, which... it's hilly.


I haven't run a half marathon for realsies since PCRF last year (so my 2:11:20 PR stands...). I don't think I'll be trying to PR here, but I'd like to at least run a good, hard effort.

So hills hills hills are in my future.

And after that, I'm empty until Dumbo Double Dare!

I spent last night furiously searching the internet machine for any half marathons in close proximity in the next 4 months, but was unsuccessful. What is that about, SoCal???

So now I'm on a fall/winter race hunt. I'd like to pull out a half and full PR by year's end, so.... CIM is a contender, but we'll see.

Any race suggestions? Only demand is that it has plenty of oxygen. And preferably close by.


PFTW:
Monday: Strength (WHAT?)
Tuesday: Run - 4 miles
Wednesday: Strength again (for real!)
Thursday: Run - 4-5
Friday: Rest
Saturday: hike?
Sunday: 6-8

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Three Things Thursday

1. My house looks ilke a craft store exploded in it. So much glitter. So many scissors. Did you KNOW there are a billion types of glue???? I had no idea.

2. I guess I'm practically famous. Or I have pretty famous internet friends.
If I'd know it was emailing out to the Road Runner Sports mailing list, I would have done something to that mess of hair on my head.....

3. I'm featured on the San Francisco Marathon blog today! I know you're dying to figure out how I fit in event planning, working full time, training, kids, a husband, and eating everything, right? Check it out HERE.

BONUS 4. Have you entered the Team Gab Virtual Race yet?? Click here to enter!

Obviously, I have a personal connection that was the catalyst for my fundraising for pediatric cancer research. But, if you have some time, check out this article: Little patients, losing patience: pediatric cancer drug development. I promise that it's not a clinical type of read, but it certainly puts, in normal people words, the reasons that pediatric cancer research is struggling.

Starting with, "Cancer in kids is not profitable".

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

That was... falling with style! (and future race plans)

Hold on to your hats.

I did yoga last night.

I fell, a lot, because I suck at balancing (why can't I balance?!), but otherwise, it was 45 minutes of silly, stretchy, muscley shakey goodness.

Silly, because Gabby and her BFF joined me in the living room, while I did a couple YogaDownload programs.

I've been doing (well, by been doing, I mean, have done in the past, and should do more frequently) the Yoga for Runners, this 10 minute hip opening flow, and sometimes the 25 minute restorative yoga. They have a ton of others that I haven't tried - I liked these, so I've stuck with them.

I always forget how much I loooooove doing yoga. It takes such a small amount of time, to feel so great. How do I bottle that up and keep it for the days I feel extra lazy?....

I also spent some time digging into my calves with a tennis ball, and  (un)shockingly, my legs feel a bazillion times better today than they did after Sunday's terrible ten.

Lesson: Sometimes, laziness does not pay off.

*************************************************************************

I finally got around to hanging up my medals from #runalltheDisneyraces January....

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App
Are we instagram friends? hmgiraffy

I'm considering my next medal hanger purchase, and leaning towards a dedicated Disney hanger? Is that weird and/or crazy?? Who am I kidding, I don't care if it is.

***********************************************************************
In other race news, I've updated my Come Run With Me! page up there ^^.

So far, this spring I've got a local 5k in March, Eugene Marathon in April, PCRF the following weekend, the local 5k with all the delicious food June 1st, San Francisco something June 16, and Dumbo Double Dare Aug 31/Sep 1.

Things I'm contemplating:
  • Full or half at SFM? I originally wanted to do the 1st half this year, to start the Half it All Challenge (and Club 52!), but I just really loved the full course!!
  • I really wanted to do Shadow of the Giants, but the timing just won't work for me this year. Because I'm committed to San Francisco Marathon (being an Ambassador!), the date change June (don't worry, it will be back to it's regularly scheduled July date for 2014!) makes Shadow of the Giants a tough scheduling break. So, I'm in the market for a 50k. Dun dun DUN.
  • Harding Hustle is at the right time, but it could be blazing hot, and I'm not a huge fan of blazing hot.
  • Mammoth Half Marathon is inaugural this year, and the course looks stunning. Plus, it's the weekend the kids get out of school, so we'd be able to make this a trip, and I've been dying to head back to Yosemite....
  • I'm not really digging the idea of running IMS Arizona, so I'm 96% sure I'm DNS'ing. Womp, womp.

So that's the schedule. I feel like it's pretty light, but I'm having a harder time picking races this year. I'm so indecisive!


Any tips on a 50k, preferably in SoCal, perferably in late May/June time frame??


Thursday, October 4, 2012

Uno, Dos, Tres

It's Thusrday!


1. I'm excited to have been selected as a San Francisco Marathon Ambassador for 2013. Back in July, I ran SFM as my second marathon, hoping for redemption after a shit-fest in Seattle. And man, it was GLORIOUS. You can read my recap HERE. I'm telling you, glorious.

I'm planning on coming back to San Francisco on June 16, 2013, to run the 1st half - the first step in the Half it All Challenge, and in joining the 52 club.

Registration is open now, and at the lowest prices you'll see. Check out the race here - I'd love to see you there!

********************************************************************************

2. We are 20 days into the school year for the kidlets, and Gabby has missed 3 days so far - 1 for a routine oncology clinic visit, 2 for a cough. Oh, leukemia. That's not cute.

On Tuesday night, her BFF came by and dropped off a get well soon card for her...

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App


Adorable. Except I was not, in fact, cooking good soup for her. But she did stop feeling blue.

Speaking of Gabby... We will be attending a super special, super secret event Saturday (after Chapman 5k....), and I'm really, really, really excited. REALLY excited. Did I mention excited?

Hint: It's Make-a-Wish related.

And speaking of MaW, please don't forget to check out the Straight Talk Wireless demos every Saturday - click HERE to visit their website {note: this is NOT an affiliate link, I'm not paid or compensated in any way - but Make a Wish provided us with something amazing, and every critically ill child should have the same opportunity}.

**********************************************************************************

3. I had an okay-ish run on Monday - 6 miles, .75 easy, .25 fast. The fast was... fast (duh), but not terrible. Except for the heat. Hells bells, the heat.

But last night, man. Last night, I did 14 miles after work. That was the the longest thing ever in the universe ever. I mean, I guess it will be worth it in 10 days when I'm NOT running 16 miles at 8,000' elevation surrounded by bears, but last night it felt like it would NEVER END.

And today I'm starving. #eatallthethings

Monday, July 30, 2012

Marathon Redemption: San Francisco Marathon Recap

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

I think I summed up my feelings about marathon2.0 pretty thoroughly last week... I know the people of the internet machine are really concerned about this, so I want to make sure everyone knows...

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

I went with the Glycerine's.

Becka and I had a delicious dinner with ReneighRuns Saturday evening
at
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Ristorante Umbria - super duper delicious.

Renee gave us some details about the race, including the exciting news that we did not need to spend a freezing hour waiting for a race to start - we could pretty much just show up right before our wave.
Stopped quickly at a giant Walgreens (fresh fruit? sushi? who knew?!), then back to our hotel to get our race stuff together....
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App
I love personalized bibs.
We set our alarms for the luxuriously late time of 4:57am, and got ready in record fast time. Out the door and walking to the start line by 5:35 - our hotel was super close, and it was pretty chilly, so we were excited for a 10 minute walk to the corrals, and that we had real bathrooms without needing to stand in line!).
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

The goal, for me, was to ultimately run a comfortable pace, but not tied to any specific number - more than sticking a pace, I wanted my brain to not quit.

Miles 1-5: 10:55, 11:01, 12:12, 10:49, 11:19
The course starts mostly flat along the Embarcadero, through Fishermans Wharf, next to Ghiradelli Square, up the hill at Fort Mason, then through Crissy Field to the first part of the Golden Gate Bridge.
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Miles 6-10: 13:30, 11:12, 12:17, 10:56, 11:27
Running on the bridge.... amazing. It's crowded, but it's so beautiful! The bridge is so tall. There's water everywhere (duh, I know). It's just great. You should totally try it. It was kind of congested, but not too bad, and we were running carefully anyway - weird slippery grates all over the place, and Renee warned us lots of people face plant. Ha. not us! I saw Paulette running back on the bridge on our way out - I love seeing people at races!

We found for REAL bathrooms at the Marin County side of the bridge, and - UNLIKE IN STUPID SEATTLE - we ran the end of the bridge, a quick turn around at a scenic vista point, and back across the bridge. No lame banked tunnels to navigate. {TAKE NOTE, RNR}.

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Photobucket

Mile 10 ran through some trails overlooking the water, in Baker Beach. Beautiful.

Miles 11-15: 10:13, 12:11, 11:35, 11:59, 11:15
Mile 11-12 were really tough for me - I was worried that all this uphill nonsense was just going to wreck my legs, and I started being legit concerned that I wouldn't be able to finish. I strongly considered dropping at the end of first half, and looked at the marathon/half marathon split sadly when we went the other way.

These miles all ran through Golden Gate Park, which was LOVELY. It was lush, and green, and wildflowers everywhere, and... BUFFALO! I know, who knew, right!? It was really beautiful. I was just over it. I felt like there was sooooo much time in this park. Which is odd, for me, usually I dig that kind of stuff. Who knows.
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

I know, so pretty. Gently rolling hills - I think we ran most of most of them. Some we walked parts. I just focused on keeping my brain from stopping.

Miles 16-20: 11:28, 12:25, 10:45, 12:01, 11:38
At mile 17.5, we ran into REAL BATHROOMS. AGAIN! So we took advantage. Somewhere in here was an aid station with BEER. Delicious. I don't really drink beer, but it was the BEST.

16-18 were still in Golden Gate Park. Mile 19 we (finally!) exited the park, and headed out onto Haight!
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App
This neighborhood was fascinating, and the residents seemed to dig the race running through their area - super fun.

Miles 21-26.47: 11:15, 11:16, 12:33, 11:34, 11:21, 12:22, 9:16
Miles 20-21 were mostly downhill, and STEEP downhill. It definitely seemed to agree with me - I don't know if it was just giddiness that I felt so good at this point, or if there's some sciency stuff about working different muscles or something, but whatever. it was rad.

At mile 23, Becka biofreezed up her knee - I didn't realize it was hurting her, seriously, before - I would have totally eased up on the downhills had I known :(.

Some more awesome locals were giving away PASTRIES. So delicious.

Miles 23-24 are not super scenic, kind of through an industrial area. Mile 25 we ran towards AT&T Park, and the tailgaters were everywhere cooking delicious smelling food. We walked a tiny bit outside of AT&T park until we hit mile 25, and ran it in.
Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

In full disclosure, my official time is 5:10:xx. I'm not sure where my watch went wonky, because I don't pause in a race, but... whatever. I don't care. I finished and I finished happy.

********************************************************************************

So, overall, SFM is a GREAT race. The course is really fantastic - I can't imagine why the park bothered me so much, but I'm positive that it's just my brain. Under almost any other circumstance I would have loved it.

The weather was perfect - I wore my arm sleeves the entire race, and never felt overheated at all. I just can't imagine better running weather.

IMO, the first half was dramatically harder than the second half. First half = the bridge and sights of SF. Second half = that park, and all the downhills/flats. Pick your poison, I guess. (Note, I plan on doing the Half it All Challenge ASAP).

My only real complaint, and it's certainly not a big one, was I would have liked more aid stations, and the aid stations seemed to have a tough time keeping cups filled and ready. There were 12 stations which is okay, just my personal preference, because I didn't want to carry my handheld.

And, obviously, I nailed the hell out of my goal.


LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails